Our Leadership

President Rich Wagner


In 2009, Dunwoody College of Technology named Rich Wagner, Ph.D. as its ninth president. Wagner originally joined Dunwoody in 1996 as an electrical instructor. In 1999, he assumed the role of department director and was promoted to Dean of Learning in 2001. He served as Vice President of Academic Affairs from 2005 to July 2009, when he assumed his role as president.

Wagner earned his doctorate in educational policy and administration from the University of Minnesota. He holds a master’s degree in business administration from the Crummer Graduate School of Business at Rollins College in Winter Park, Fla., and a B.S. degree from the State University of New York in Albany.

Prior to entering higher education, Wagner served 10 years in the U.S. Navy, including five years as an electrician/technical supervisor on a nuclear submarine.


President Wagner has a proven track record as an innovative, thoughtful leader who is clearly focused on how Dunwoody can best serve students and employers in the years ahead. Through his work with underserved, underrepresented, and under-resourced students, Wagner constantly works to empower students to achieve success through hands-on education at Dunwoody.

Strong growth, clear direction, and strategic investments in programs, people, and infrastructure have been the hallmark of President Wagner’s leadership during the past 10 years. Through his tenure, Dunwoody has embraced a transformative strategic plan and built the positive momentum now carrying the College forward into its second century of education.

Over the past decade, Wagner has driven significant changes at Dunwoody. His visionary leadership led to an eight year strategic plan that grew Dunwoody’s enrollment, created programs to support Minnesota’s labor pool, built a unique student experience, and invested resources in Dunwoody’s aging infrastructure.

Wagner has built pathways to prosperity for students, working to strengthen industry and community partnerships by developing the skilled workforce needed to fuel Minnesota’s economy. During his tenure, the College has developed strong partnerships with The Women’s Foundation, Minneapolis Public Schools, Generation Next, The Otto Bremer Trust, General Mills Foundation, and Best Buy Foundation.

Board of Trustees Officers

Mark G. Sherry
Architectural Design & Estimating Technology 1987
Executive Vice President
M.A. Mortenson Company
Mortenson Development, Inc.

Nancy M. Dahl
Vice Chair
Chief Executive Officer
IQ Strategic Partners

Paul W. Grunau
Chief Learning Officer
APi Group, Inc.

Cynthia Wagener Robin
Vice President of Operations
Morrie’s Classic Cars

Rich Wagner, Ph.D.
Dunwoody College of Technology

Board of Trustees Members

Bernard P. Aldrich
Retired, Chair of the Board
Apogee Enterprises

Theodore J. Christianson
Managing Director, Merchant Banking
Piper Sandler & Co.

Hutchins B. Coburn
Senior Vice President – End of Line

James D. Engelsma
Vice President
Kraus-Anderson Financial Services Group

Claire M. Ferrara
2011 Heating Cooling Systems Design
President & Majority Owner
Standard Heating & Air Conditioning

Matthew M. Furman
Chief Communications and Public Affairs Officer
Best Buy

Danile E. Glusick
Senior Vice President of Global Operations
Tennant Company

Laura K. Graf
Chief Legal Officer
Ryan Companies

Andrew R. Hecker
Chief Executive Officer
Concept Machine

Victoria M. Holt
Director and Business Executive

Karen Isaacson
Vice President, North American Distribution – Operations
Emerson Automation Solutions

Arthur W. Johnson
Chief Executive Officer
Infinity Systems, Inc.

Thomas M. Kieffer

David M. Lyman
Lyman Executive Search

William J. Mateikis
Sherwood Food Distributors

Bonnie Speer McGrath
Chair, TIGER 21 Minneapolis

Dale A. Nordquist
Industrial Electronics 1974
Granite Equity

Julie A. Owen
Chief Operating Officer
Innovative Office Solutions

Kimberly A. Randolph
Vice President – Energy Supply, Projects
Xcel Energy

Jon L. Reissner
Activar, Inc.

Steven A. Sonnenberg
Former Chairman
Emerson Automation Solutions

Gregg E. Stedronsky
Retired, Vice President of Engineering, Global Safety & Environment
General Mills

Gregory P. Theis
Vice President of Liberty Packaging North
Liberty Diversified International

Presidents Emeritus

Frank Starke
C. Ben Wright, Ph.D

Honorary Trustees

Clifford I. Anderson
Robert W. Carlson, Jr.
David P. Crosby
Joel A. Elftmann
Charles E. Kiester
Cornell L. Moore
Raymond K. Newkirk
Gary N. Petersen
Donald E. Ryks
Maurice J. Wagener